UTEP Library Research Guides: Multimedia Writing: Databases

Streaming Video

Docuseek2
Provides online access to a wide selection of documentaries and social issues films from Bullfrog Films, Icarus Films, Docuseek2, Terra Nova Films, The Fanlight Collection, Kartemquin Films, and Collective Eye Films in streaming video format.
Filmakers Library Online (Alexander Street Press)
Subject coverage includes race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more.
Films on Demand: Digital Educational Video
State-of-the-art streaming video platform produced by the Films Media Group (FMG), composed of Films for the Humanities and Sciences, Cambridge Educational, Meridian Education, and Shopware. Subject coverage is multidisciplinary and includes humanities, social sciences, business, economics, science, mathematics, health, medicine, archival films and newsreels, and much more. Updates vary by title with new content added annually.
Insight Media Digital: Education for the 21st Century (Video-on-Demand)
Provides access to the complete digital streaming video collection of Insight Media on the IRIS Education platform. Subject coverage includes communication, dance, drama, education, nursing and allied health, psychology, research and design, sociology, and more.
Kanopy - Featured Collection: Media Education Foundation (MEF)
Subject coverage is multidisciplinary and includes the arts and humanities, education, mass media, communication, business and professional training, science, health, and much more.
New Day Films
Provides access to a selected collection of independent documentaries from New Day Films in digital streaming format on the IRIS Education platform.

Remote Access

To access electronic resources outside the library you will need to authenticate your status as a UTEP student.

There are two options for remote access:

It is recommended to download the UTEP VPN to your personal computer in order to access the library's e-content. See Tutorial for Macs or Tutorial for Windows.
If you cannot set up a VPN connection; use the Library Proxy. To create a library pin see Create or Recover Library Pin Tutorial.

Recommended Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive bibliographic index for multidisciplinary literature. Formats indexed include books, newspapers, and magazines, as well as scholarly and peer-reviewed journals. Subject coverage includes social sciences, arts and humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, health sciences, multicultural studies, and many more. Most citations include abstracts and full text or link to full text content from other providers, based on institutional subscriptions. This database is made possible by TexShare.
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=a9h

A complete listing of all Communication databases.

AP Stylebook Online (Associated Press) This link opens in a new window
Provides complete full-text access to the Associated Press Stylebook, including an alphabetical guide to usage, spelling, and punctuation. The pronouncers feature includes the phonetic spelling of words as well as audio files of the correct pronounciation of names in the news. Also includes The Media Law Guide that gives journalists a framework for understanding some of the legal questions commonly encountered in news gathering and publishing.
https://www.apstylebook.com/utep/
RESTRICTIONS: Ten simultaneous users.
Communication and Mass Media Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive bibliographic index for communication and mass media research literature derived from the merger of CommSearch, formerly produced by the National Communication Association (NCA), Mass Media Articles Index, formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University, and numerous other authoritative resources. Publications indexed include peer-reviewed journal articles, monographs, major journalism reviews, recent encyclopedias, conference proceedings, working papers, gray literature, and handbooks.
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=ufh
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive bibliographic database that provides indexing, abstracts, and full text for a broad spectrum of film and television literature. Subject coverage includes film and television theory, preservation and restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Materials indexed include journals, books, and other publications.
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=f3h

New York Times
Full text available from LexisNexis Academic: 06/01/1980 to present
Full text available from Opposing Viewpoints In Context: 01/01/1985 to present
Full text available from ProQuest Digital Microfilm: 01/01/2008 to 3 months ago

Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic index that provides selective coverage for a wide variety of international, national, and regional newspapers. Subject coverage is multidisciplinary. Indexes other news sources such as television and radio transcripts, newswires, book reviews, speeches, and magazines. Many citations include abstracts and/or full-text while others link to full-text content based on institutional subscriptions. Updated daily.
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&custid=s4252121&profile=ehost&defaultdb=n5h&groupid=main

Multimedia Writing: Databases

Streaming Video

Remote Access

Recommended Databases

Create or Recover Your Library PIN