Skip to main content

The Americas: Accessing Databases

Accessing Databases

1. Start at the UTEP Library online catalog: http://libraryweb.utep.edu/

We will be working with this part of the webpage:

2. Use the Articles & Databases tab:

You can search databases by:

a. Browsing databases, using the dropdown list. This arranges our 400+ databases by discipline/subject:

b. Using the A to Z list to find your database, if you know the name of it:

Let's find the Academic Search Complete database.

  • Use the A to Z list. Find it listed in the results, and click on the title:

 

The next page will give you the link to the database, as well as a description of its contents and dates of coverage:

Next, click on the link to the database, circled in red:

 

 

 

What if there's no FULL TEXT option to click on?

You should see, and then click on CHECK FOR THIS ITEM AT THE UTEP LIBRARY:

 

 

It opens a new tab, called the WebBridge. This should list a database the article is found in. Click on the link to go to the database.

If there is no datbase listed in the WebBridge, go back to the UTEP Lirbary online catalog and do a search by journal title in the e-journals tab. We might carry it, even though no database was listed for it in the WebBridge. In other words, try other search strategies, don't just give up!

500 W. University Avenue : El Paso, TX, 79968-0582 : (915) 747-5672
Copyright | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
State Reports | UT System | Customer Service Statement | Site Feedback | Required Links |