Skip to main content

Dr. Potter's Library Guide: Database Comparison Charts

Database Comparison Chart

Please note: The charts below are meant as general info, (exceptions could exist) and is not meant to deter you from searching and exploring databases.

Database Comparison Chart

Database/ Features:

Book Review Digest Plus - H.W. Wilson (EBSCO)

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD)

Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online (DLBC) (Gale)

Gale Literary Databases: Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, Dictionary of Literary Biography

TeachingBooks.net

Literature Criticism Online (LCO) (Gale)

Search by Lexile Reading Level?

Yes

Yes

No

No

Yes (Look in Advanced Search)

No

Search by genre?

No

Yes

No

No

Yes

No

Book Reviews/Evaluation?

Yes

Yes (Look in Reviews tab)

No

Yes

Short ones (Look in Book Annotations)

Yes

Includes lesson plans or discussion guides?

No

Yes (Look in Curriculum Tools tab)

No

No

Yes

No

Literary analysis/Criticism

No

No

No

Yes

No

Yes

Author interviews

No

Yes (Look in Curriculum Tools tab)

No

Yes

Yes

Yes, some

Full text?

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Peer-reviewed articles?

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

No

Yes

Scholarly articles?

(Academic / Scholarly content)

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

No

Yes

Biographies?

Yes

Sometimes (linked out to other sources)

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Newspapers?

No

No

No

No

No

No

Books?

Some linked records to e-books

No

No

No

No

Book chapters

Search by methodology?

No

No

No

No

No

Topic Finder & Term Frequency search

Plot summaries/Synopsis?

Yes, in reviews

Sort of, in reviews

No

No

Short ones (Look in Book Annotations)

Yes

Poems?

No

No

No

Yes, analysis of

Info about poetry books

Yes, analysis of

Short stories?

No

No

No

No

No

Yes, analysis of

Dates of Coverage:

1983 - Present (annual updates)

Reviews publications from 1900-present

Updates vary.

Late 1800’s - Present

[No Info available]

Coverage and updates vary by title.

Database Comparison Chart

Database/ Features:

Literary Reference Center (EBSCO)

MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)

Lexisnexis Academic

JSTOR

Project Muse

The Internet Public Library. Literary criticism

Search by Lexile Reading Level?

No

No

No

No

No

No

Search by genre?

Yes

No

No

No (Search by DISCIPLINE? Yes)

No (Search by Research Area? Yes)

No

Book Reviews/Evaluation?

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Includes lesson plans or discussion guides?

No

No

No

No

No

Type “lesson plans” into the search box

Literary analysis/Criticism

Yes

Yes

No

Yes

Yes

Yes

Author interviews

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

No

Full text?

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Peer-reviewed articles?

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Scholarly articles?

(Academic / Scholarly content)

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Biographies?

Yes

No

Yes

No

No

Yes

Newspapers?

No

No

Yes

No

No

No

Books?

Yes

Some

Yes

Sometimes

Yes

Some

Search by methodology?

No

No

No

No

No

No

Plot summaries/Synopsis?

Yes

Sort of

Sort of

Yes

Sometimes

Yes

Poems?

Yes

Poetry books

No

No

No

Yes

Short stories?

Yes

Short story books

No

No

Yes

Yes

Dates of Coverage:

Coverage and updates vary by publication.

1963 - present

(varies) - present

Coverage and updates vary by publication.

1993 - present (varies by title)

Vary by title.

NOTES:

Databases for Peer-Reviewed Sources

a) Academic Search Complete

  • Multidisciplinary
  • Literary criticism articles = Document type/literary criticism
  • Scholarly article results= Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals box
  • Citation = Cite button on right

 b) MLA International Bibliography

  • Multidisciplinary
  • Document type/literary criticism
  • Scholarly article results= Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals box
  • Citation = Cite button on right

c) JSTOR

  • Multidisciplinary
  • Advanced Search/ Language & Literature box
  • Citation = Cite this item button

d)  Project MUSE

  • Content type (on left)/ Articles
  • Citation = View Citation (listed on right)
  • Biography? (Look in Journal Name box)
  • Literary Criticism? (Look in Journal Name box)
  • Citation = Cite button on right

 

Databases for Literary Criticism/ Book Reviews

a) Literary Reference Center

  • Literary criticism articles =Source Types/ Literary Criticism
  • Citation = Cite button on right

b) LexisNexis Academic

  • Good for newspaper articles and book reviews
  • Literary criticism articles =Subject/Literary Criticism
  • Biography? (Some bio info in articles, but not really)
  • Citation = blue book button on upper right corner

 c) Literature Criticism Online

  • Biography? = Document type/Biography (on lower left)
  • Biography? (Download tool sometimes has an Entire Entry option)
  • Citation = Citation tool with wrench on upper left

500 W. University Avenue : El Paso, TX, 79968-0582 : (915) 747-5672
Copyright | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
State Reports | UT System | Customer Service Statement | Site Feedback | Required Links |