Skip to main content

COMM 1301 (Public Speaking): Recommended Databases

This is an information literacy resource for Communication 1301: Public Speaking.

Recommended Databases for Public Speaking

UTEP library online catalog/Provides access to electronic content (books, journals, articles, etc.) as well as listings of print and other materials held at the library.


UTEP Library Databases:

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)/ Description: Comprehensive bibliographic index for multidisciplinary literature. Formats indexed include books, newspapers, and magazines, as well as scholarly and peer-reviewed journals.

Britannica: Academic Edition Provides complete full-text access to the Encyclopaedia Britannica as well as the following other resources: World Data Analyst, Gateway to the Classics, Year in Review, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Merriam-Webster's Dictionary of Quotations, Britannica Concise Encyclopedia, World Atlas, Timelines, and more. Materials indexed include encyclopedia, newspaper, journal, and magazine articles; selected, rated, and reviewed Internet sites; illustrations, ranging from photographs and drawings to images, maps, and flags; and video and other media. Subject coverage is comprehensive and multidisciplinary.

Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale)/ Description: Provides full text online access to a multidisciplinary social issues and controversies book series published by Greenhaven Press and other Gale imprints. Publications indexed include pro and con viewpoint articles

Lexis Nexis Academic/ Provides access to various databases, including current news, business information, company directories, federal and state laws, regulations, legal cases, etc.

TOPICsearch (EBSCO) - Provides diverse current events literature on a wide variety of popular topics discussed in today's classrooms, including social, political and economic issues; scientific discoveries; and more. Materials indexed include international, national, and regional newspapers; journals and magazines; biographies; public opinion polls; book reviews; pamphlets; and government information. Some citations include abstracts and some include full text or links to full text, based on institutional subscriptions.


Other Resources:

Times Topics/ Each topic page collects all the news, reference and archival information, photos, graphics, audio and video files published on various topics ranging from A to Z. This treasure trove is available without charge on articles going back to 1981.

Google Scholar -Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines. If you have an active login to your UTEP account, it will wive you a "UTEP access" message; clicking on this will take you to the article housed in the UTEP Library databases.

500 W. University Avenue : El Paso, TX, 79968-0582 : (915) 747-5672
Copyright | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
State Reports | UT System | Customer Service Statement | Site Feedback | Required Links |