Skip to main content

COMM 3313: Newsgathering and Investigation: Recommended Online Resources.

Your library and research guide to COMM 3313: Newsgathering and Investigation.

Recommended UTEP Library Resources

Databases and Books.

Open Databases

Resources for Current Events


The Daily Beast

Cheat Sheets: A speedy, smart summary of news and must-reads from across the Web, and the latest original stories on politics, entertainment, and more from The Daily Beast. Delivered weekday mornings and afternoons.


Nate Silver's FiveThirtyEight uses statistical analysis — hard numbers — to tell compelling stories about politics, sports, science, economics and lifestyle.


Breaking News, Latest News and Current News

National Public Radio (NPR)

News: U.S. and World News Headlines.

Reveal News - The Center for Investigative Reporting

The mission of The Center for Investigative Reporting is to engage and empower the public through investigative journalism and groundbreaking storytelling in order to spark action, improve lives and protect our democracy.

The Center for Public Integrity was founded in 1989 by Charles Lewis. We are one of the country's oldest and largest nonpartisan, nonprofit investigative news organizations. Our mission: To serve democracy by revealing abuses of power, corruption and betrayal of public trust by powerful public and private institutions, using the tools of investigative journalism.


ProPublica is an independent, non-profit newsroom that produces investigative journalism in the public interest. Our work focuses exclusively on truly important stories, stories with “moral force.” We do this by producing journalism that shines a light on exploitation of the weak by the strong and on the failures of those with power to vindicate the trust placed in them.

Times Topics - The New York Times

Each topic page collects all the news, reference and archival information, photos, graphics, audio and video files published on various topics ranging from A to Z. This treasure trove is available without charge on articles going back to 1981.


Vox is a general interest news site for the 21st century. Its mission is simple: Explain the news.



The Ecologist
Full­text articles about environmental affairs going back to 1970.

Environment News Service
Daily independent international newswire covering environment issues such as renewable energy.

Earth Portal
This site consists of three components: The Encyclopedia of Earth, the Earth Forum (commentary), and Earth news (news stories on environmental issues).

Searchable databases and data tables by topic from the World Resources Institute.



Sunlight Foundation

­ national, nonpartisan, nonprofit organization that uses the tools of civic tech, open data, policy analysisand journalism to make government and politics more accountable and transparent to all.

Follow the Money

nonpartisan, verifiable archive of contributions to political campaigns in all 50 states.

Journalist’s Resource

project examines news topics through a research lens.



News, commentary and links about journalism and media.


Mediagazer presents the day's must-read media news on a single page. The media business is in tumult: from the production side to the distribution side, new technologies are upending the industry. Keeping up with these changes is time-consuming, as essential media coverage is scattered across numerous web sites at any given moment. Mediagazer simplifies this task by organizing the key coverage in one place. We've combined sophisticated automated aggregation technologies with direct editorial input from knowledgeable human editors to present the one indispensable narrative of an industry in transition.


(InfoPlease website)

 Last updated on 7/30/2015 by Adrian Morales.



500 W. University Avenue : El Paso, TX, 79968-0582 : (915) 747-5672
Copyright | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
State Reports | UT System | Customer Service Statement | Site Feedback | Required Links |